Translate this page

English Arabic French German Greek Swahili Turkish

12 August 2020 / 22. Zil-Hajj 1441

Khoja Studies Course 02

The Khoja Community - Evolution of An Iconic Diaspora

 SIGN UP HERE Register by May 3

Registration now closed!

 

Conveyed in three parts, over ten weekly sessions, this series of live interactive online presentations delve into epochal phases of the Evolutionary Journey of the Khoja Community and traces the migratory patterns that resulted in the formation of an iconic Khoja diaspora as we know it today.

 

Part one will cover the Genesis of the Khojas in the pre-colonial India to provide a background of the societal structure, traditions and rituals as well as myths amongst the Sindi, Kutchi and Kathiawadi communities in what is known as present day Gujarat in India and Sindh in Pakistan.

 

Part two will focus on Identity building during the British Colonial rule in India and the crystallization of the three Khoja Communities between the arrival of the Aga Khan I in India in 1845 and the arrival of Mulla Qader Husein in 1862.

Part three will trace migration, Community Building and socio-religious endeavours focussing on Eastern Africa, as a case study where the Khoja Community has been most impactful in its progress in socio religious sectors. It will also review religious and history and literature which has been instrumental in the evolution of the Community.

 

This interactive course will also be an opportunity for participants to reflect on the lessons learnt, discussions on the mother tongue and the direction of travel in the days to come.

 

Hosted by Dr Hasnain Walji.  – Chair -  WF Khoja Heritage Project

 

Start Date:  May 6 -  July 15 2020 (Every Wednesday - No session on May 13/19 Ramadan)

 

Times: 6pm UK, 7pm France, 8pm East Africa, 10:30pm India, 10:00pm Pakistan, 1pm US EST/12noon CST/10am PST 

 

Part I: Genesis of the Khojas in the Pre-colonial India

Session 1: Origins – Caste System and Nat

Session 2: Khoja faith and practices

 

Part II: Identity building in British India

Session 3: Khoja Association with Ismailis

Session 4: First Split - Bar Bhaya revolt 

Session 5: The Karbala Connection

Session 6: 1866 Khoja Case 

Session 7: Arrival of Qadir Hussein in Mumbai

 

Part III: Community Building and Socio-religious Endeavours  

Session 8: Khoja in Sindh  (Modern Day Pakistan)    

Session 8: Eastern Africa – A Case Study in Socio-religious development 

Session 9: Religious and Literary works  

Session 10: Reflections and Whereto Now? 

  

SIGN UP HERE Register by May 3

Download the Poster in PDF here

SIGN UP HERE Register by May 3

Related News


Related News


Due to the spread of COVID-19, the Government of Pakistan decided to shut down all the business and social activities. With this complete lockdown our community members also got affected especially those who were working on daily wages or running a small business. Find out more about this here.


The fact that Islam as a religion has precision built into it is an undeniable fact. As we evolve with our knowledge of the Holy Qur’an, it is fairly obvious that there is a lot that is yet to be discovered in this miraculous book of revelation. Scientists who study the holy Qur’an continue to be astounded by how it continues to reveal what they are just discovering. Learn how we need to hold ourselves accountable here.


The World Federation is pleased to share with you the CoEJ nominations submitted to us by you! Click here to find out who our community nominated for Fatima Inspires 2019.